Smoking cigarettes and HH

Posted In: Iontophoresis Forum

• Participant
        Shaniqua Jordon on #4135

Hey yall,

I've been doing iontophoresis for a couple months now, started in mid April. I was having minor success until I quit smoking cigarettes completely. I wasn't a super heavy smoker but I was beginning to reach a half a pack a day and decided enough was enough. In the past when I would take breaks from cigarettes I would always use a nicotine replacement, i.e gum, vape thing, even tried chewing tobacco! This time I bit the bullet and decided to go nicotine free because I heard nicotine may also increase sweating. I've had HH long before I've ever touched a cigarette so if it was only that easy.. trust me. But it has been years since I've been completely nicotine free and now after 6 weeks of ionto and 1 week nicotine free I had my first dry day all day on my hands! Has anyone else had any experience with nicotine of caffeine and HH?? As if smoking isn't bad enough for you already!!

clarke on #4424

I think there might be a connection between smoking and hyperhidrosis. Hyperhidrosis started for me at university after I started smoking. Then one time I stopped smoking my underarm sweat went away.

Acetylcholine is the chemical messenger which is believed to be related to anxiety sweating. One thing smoking does is that it increases the amount of acetylcholine receptors which probably means the acetylcholine is having more of an effect on the body than when it normally would.

When smoking cessation occurs, the body takes time to re-adjust the number of receptors to their normal levels, that's what causes some of the withdrawal symptoms. So smoking doesn't cause sweating on a cigarette by cigarette basis, the smoking would have to be stopped for a while before sweating would begin to taper off.